Sec B - Pg. 5B Harlan (lowa) Tribune

Tues. morn., Mar. 1, 1994 Phone 755-3111

## Thelma G. Sampson, 73

Exira - Thelma G. Sampson of Exira, daughter of Ralph Waldo and Lena M. Jensen Channon, was born at her parent's home in Greeley Township, Audubon County, and died at the Friendship Home in Audubon at age 73 years, 6 months, and 9 days. She attended Audubon County rural schools, then attended the Exira Public Schools graduating in 1938. She then attended college in Cedar Falls, took classes at N.W.M.S. in Maryville, MO and Iowa State University in Arnes, and later received her Bachelor's Degree from Drake University in Des Moines. She taught school in McCallsburg for a short time.

Oct. 10, 1942 she married Ernest Carroll Sampson in Maryville, MO. She taught school in several school systems in McCallsburg, Brayton, and then taught in Exira for 35 years until she retired in 1981. They moved from their farm into their home in Exira in 1988. Ernest died July 30, 1992. She maintained her home until she became a resident of the Friendship Home in Audubon Oct. 15, 1993. She had attended the First Baptist Church in Brayton for the past several years. She was a member of the Audubon Historical Society.

Preceding her in death in addition to her husband were her parents; her sister, Marie Elizabeth Mushrush; her brothers-in-law: Albert Sampson and Harold Sampson; and her sister-in-law and her husband, Irene and Sam Bergland. Survivors include her sons: Carroli (Linda) Sampson; Alan Sampson, all of Exira; two grandchildren; her sister, Carol Mae (Mrs. Glen) Rixen of Harlan; her sister-in-law, Esther Sampson of Hubbard; her brotherin-law, Emmert Mushrush of Salem Lutheran Home, Elk Horn; her special friends: Wanda Lehman, Billy Simon and Bobby Simon, all of Exira; nieces, nephews, and other relatives.

Funeral services were held Feb. 2, 1994 at the First Baptist Church, Brayton with Pastor G.W. Van Hooser officiating. Burial was in the Exira cemetery. Honorary casket bearers were: Ernest Jessen and Tony May. Casket bearers were Franklin Andersen, Francis Ballou, Ellsworth Hays, Franklin Layland, Wayne Rasmussen and Harley Riesgaard.