7-B Harlan Ia., Tribune • October 31, 1995 • Harold John Holdsworth, 72 Nov. 4, 1922 - Oct. 6, 1995

Manilla - Harold, son of Leonard and Margaret Jedele Holdsworth, was born Nov. 4, 1922 east of Manilla. He attended rural schools and Manilla High School graduating in 1940. Following graduation he worked with his father on the family farm. In June of 1944 he entered the United States Army, serving in the Rhineland and Central Europe. He was honorably discharged in May of 1946.

Sept. 1, 1947 he married Yvonne Cose at Deloit. They farmed on the family farm in partnership with his father and later with his brother, Raymond. He retired in 1984 and they moved into Manilla in 1986. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church in Manilla; American Legion Post 132; Golden Leaf Lodge No. 595; A.F. & A.M.; Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, Sioux City; Abu Bekr Temple, Sioux City; Order of the Eastern Star #182, Irwin; and West Central Iowa Shrine Club. He also held life membership in the U.S. Army 70th Division Association. He was diagnosed with lung cancer in June of this year. Since then he has spent much time in the hospital. He entered the Manilla Manor shorty before his death Oct. 6, 1995 at age 72 years, 11 months and 2 days.

He was preceded in death by his parents. Survivors include his wife, Yvonne of Manilla; two brothers, Robert Holdsworth (LaVonne) of Co. Bluffs and Raymond Holdsworth (Donna) of Manilla; two sisters, Dorothy (William) Ballantine of Ft. Meyer, FL and Darlene (Larry) Johnson of Tutsa, OK; the following sisters-in-law and brothers-in-law, Thelma Lyman of Denison; Curtis Cose (Laura Mae) of Deloit; Jesse Cose (Linnea) of Larchwood; Leonard Cose (Alice) of Denison; Margaret Cose of Denison and Mary Jane Cose of Waterloo; nieces, nephews and other relatives.

Funeral services were held Oct. 10, 1995 at the Ohde Funeral Home, Manilla with Rev. Kenneth Ritchie, United Church, Manilla officiating. Burial was in the Nishnabotna Cemetery, Manilla. Casket bearers were Alvin Miller, Dick Swanson, Marvin Arnold, Joe Bexten, Dennis Rasmussen, Junior Carstens, Eddie Meiners and Don Pedersen.